'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-01-02 - 13:41:32

Happy New Year! Here we are in a brand spanking new millenium. I don't know about you, but I am pretty happy to see 2000 done and over. It isn't that 2000 was bad, I am just ready to experience something new. In order to do that I think that I am going to have to break my "No New Year's Resolutions" rule.

For a long time I made all kinds of resolutions and then promptly forgot about them by the fourth or fifth of January. After that I would make one big resolution, not be able to follow through, and feel terrible about myself. So, I just quit making them.

Well, in the last two years I have been able to quit smoking and make a formiddable dent in the amount of weight I want/need to lose. So, if I can have enough follow through to do that, I am sure that I can make a few resolutions without breaking them.

I will start with the easier ones:

Update My Journal More Often: This should be a no-brainer, but I find that as my life gets crazy, the first thing to go is frequent updating. I want to change that because having a forum like this journal is very good for me. I feel very lucky that I have a place to write down my thoughts and share them with anyone who cares to read them. I find it very empowering to know that there are people out there that read my entries. Knowing that you are out there makes me want to write more.

Continue To Stick With Weight Watchers: I feel like I don't even need to write this one down. Over the last three months Weight Watchers has revolutionized the way I eat and even more importantly, the way I think about food. Of course I am going to stay with the program, I still have 49.2 pounds to lose.

Be A Better Housekeeper: I know that sounds like I have a twisted desire to regress to a 1950's frame of mind, but I really do need to keep up with my share of the household chores. It isn't fair to Cor that he ends up doing the lion's share of the work. It goes beyond that though, he is working full time now and so there is no way that we can function if I don't pick up the slack and do my share. This resolution is deceptively simple. Of course I should do my share, everyone should. I suffer from serious work paralysis when it comes to this kind of stuff. I can always find something better to do. And the funny thing is, I love living in a spotless house, I just don't want to to do the work necessary to get it or keep it that way. This year will be different though. This year I will do my part. I may not live in a model of perfection, but at least I can keep the dishes done.

I don't know if I feel better for having confessed my pathetic and piggish nature, but perhaps a public confession is embarrassing enough to make me change my ways.

Keep My Car Washed And Waxed: Again this sounds silly, but my Pop has always done this for me, and now that we are in different cities it is time for me to stop being a spoiled child and keep my car looking pretty all by myself.

Now for the big one:

Figure Out What I Want To Be When I Grow Up: Now that Cor is working full time in a secure job that he really likes, I have the opportunity to go back to school, not just talk about it. So I need to decide what I want to study, what I will do once I have an advanced degree, and then go for it. This last resolution is very scary for me because it is going to make my life change really drastically. It will mean going from working full time to being a full time student. And with that goes not just a massive change in our finances but in my identity as well. I know I need to do this though because I have been unsatisfied and completely unfulfilled with my work for several years now. Quite frankly, I can't waffle about this forever, I'm not getting any younger. I am just plain tired of letting life happen to me instead of taking an active role in what I do.

If I can actually fulfill all of this year's crop of resolutions, 2001 will be a banner year.

Do you make resolutions? Do you stick to them? What is your big goal for 2001?

I hope that each and every one of you is able to reach for your goals and have a truly inspirational and wonderful year.

Until Next Time...

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!