'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-02-14 - 14:29:30

As so often happens on Wednesdays (my Weight Watchers meeting day), I find myself thinking about motivation. Why is it that some weeks it is so hard to stay motivated that it makes me physically tired? And why are those "bad" weeks often followed by weeks of such intense motivation that nothing can hold me back?

I wish that there was an easy formula for getting and staying motivated to meet my goals. Gritting my teeth and just doing it, can be very wearing. Luckily, this has been a pretty good week.

I think that trying on some old clothes and having them fit for the first time in years was enough to spur me on. It is amazing how much easier it is to say no to dessert when you are wearing an old dress that hasn't fit for so long that it feels new!

As far as being motivated in other parts of my life, I think my cousin has helped me out a lot. She has been my sounding board through out the application process for school. She has definitely gone above and beyond for me. She even provided some fantastic criticism for my admissions essay. All of this while she is a full time grad student and working two or three part time jobs! She has been absolutely unwavering in her belief in my ability to reach my goals. That is incredibly empowering.

How do you find motivation? Do you have any one trick that acts as an instant "pick-me-up" for you?

I hope that you are feeling good and realizing your dreams.

Until Next Time...

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!