'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-03-02 - 14:48:16

Guess what? I'm in circulation! I finally heard from the chair of the history department I applied to, and the good word is that my application is in circulation being reviewed by the Graduate Committee. Hopefully I will hear something soon.

It is a little strange being in limbo like this. I feel like I am just within reach of this goal that I have had for years, but at the same time I have no control over this part of the process. I am trying to keep everything in perspective, but I want this so badly that I am afraid I will be quite crushed if I am not accepted. So, please keep your fingers crossed for me and send those good thoughts in the direction of the admissions committee.

I guess because I have no control over this, I have been trying to concentrate on exacting complete control in the areas of my life that I can. This need for control has been manifesting itself in a healthy way for once! I have been able to draw up a sane and healthy exercise schedule, and I am in the second week of sticking to it!

My goal for March is to stick with this plan and my Weight Watchers eating plan and reach the 50 pound mark in my diet. That breaks down to losing 2.1 pounds per week for the whole month. While that sounds like a lot, it is within a healthy range of weight to lose each week. I will just have to really work to do it. That is where exercising 6 days a week will give me the extra edge.

The exercising is really beginning to make me feel good. I am doing Tae-Bo(tm) and Pilates videos on alternating days. I really like the combination of high impact/high intensity and no impact/high intensity that I get in this combination. Best of all, both of the videos are a lot of fun and have just enough challenge to keep me interested!

I can't see any changes in my body because this is only my second week following this regimen, but I can feel the difference. I am standing taller and with more confidence. I feel better too - my energy levels remain at a steady high all day long and I am beginning a tentative friendship with my body. Now, I just need to be able to keep my motivation level high enough to actually achieve a visible difference in the way I look.

Are you exercising regularly? What do you like to do to stay in shape? Do you have any good ideas to keep me interested in this whole exercising regularly thing?

Until Next Time...

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!