'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-27 - 8:19 p.m.

Today was the service for my Grandma. Following is what I read. May she rest in peace and happiness wherever she is.

When I think about Grandma, what I remember most are the things she encouraged me to do.

Grandma encouraged me to open my mind through reading. She bought me my first Nancy Drew novel, and then she put up with me reading it in her bed until 1 or 2 in the morning. Every time I would visit her a new book or two would be waiting for me.

Grandma definitely encouraged me to let my imagination soar. She not only let me play in her clothes, shoes, jewelry and make up, but would actively participate in my flights of fancy. She would play pretend with me, both of us dressed up to the nines drinking tea and eating cookies on china. All of which made me feel very grown up and very special.

Grandma encouraged me to feel comfortable with being me. She always made me feel important. No matter how much I chattered to her, she listened to what I had to say. She made me feel valued by taking me seriously, even when I was at my silliest. She helped me feel like I could do anything that I set my mind to.

These are wonderful gifts that Grandma gave me � to love words, to be free to play, and above all to never be afraid to be myself. I count myself lucky to have had her in my life.

Until Next Time...

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!