'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-11 - 11:14 p.m.

The job hunt continues. I had an interview today for a month long temporary position. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I get it. I am beginning to feel a little desperate about the whole no job, no money thing. I know that something will come my way, but I am growing very weary of being patient with the whole process.

Today�s interview was with a small car dealership. Their receptionist is out on maternity leave. If it works out, there is a possibility of permanence � she may not be coming back. She has already extended her leave a couple of times. If they are at all flexible about my schedule, it could end up being a good fit for everyone. The location is good for me too � less than four miles from my apartment.

Even if it doesn�t work out, I at least feel like I am getting somewhere. Going on an interview is a nice bit of progress.

********************

I have a lunch date with Cor today. That should be nice. Things have been going very well with us lately. It is so wonderful to see him becoming himself again. It pulls at my heartstrings, yes it does. It also gives me real hope for our future. Yes, it is true that there is some hard work ahead of us, but I do think that it could all work out beautifully.

********************

When I got back from an absolutely fantastic Indian lunch with Cor, there was a very nice message waiting for me. I start the temp assignment tomorrow! I am so relieved that there is work for the next month. It really feels like the heat is coming off � at least for a few weeks. I may be able to buy a few Christmas presents after all.

Speaking of presents, I am going to make wine glass charms. Lucky for me, most of my family drinks wine making this a simple but appreciated present. Right now I think that I am going to make five sets. That should pretty well cover all of the important folks. The ones that I am going to see anyway. I am going to round the presents off with some other home made stuff, I am just not sure what; probably some cookies, maybe some soap, or maybe cloth covered books. It will depend more than anything on what I can get done quickly. Christmas is exactly two weeks away � Gulp!

********************

As I was pulling into my alley after work this evening, I saw a sad and pathetic sight. There was a guy pushing his bike down the alley. At first I couldn�t figure out why he was walking his bike instead of riding it � I could tell that the chain was on ok and that the tires were fully inflated. After watching him for about a minute all became clear. He was walking because he was so drunk that there was no way he could ride. It was all he could do to remain upright. It made me feel bad for him. It wasn�t even 8:00 pm and this poor guy was already so smashed that he couldn�t ride his bike without falling over. What kind of way is that to live? I watched him stagger down the alley until he was out of sight.

I was particularly happy to have my apartment to come home to. That I have warm fuzzy kitties that love me. And most of all that my life hasn�t driven me to drink to distraction.

Until Next Time�

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!