'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-03-15 - 13:48:01

Today is a very special and wonderful day in the life story of Aravis. Today is Lucy's Birthday! I always feel like there should be ticker tape parades and a holiday on Lucy's Birthday. This is because Lucy is the closest friend I have ever had and she deserves public celebration.

I am so incredibly blessed to have her in my life. What is most amazing to me is that she has been my closest friend for over 20 years!

Lucy and I met and became close friends in grade school. That is not so unusual. What is unusual is that we managed to be as close as can be throughout the tumult that is junior high and then through high school. We stayed close through college and beyond.

From the very beginning, Lucy and I have strived to make our friendship healthy. As small children, that was like second nature. As we got older, we learned how to disagree without fighting, how to compromise, how to value each other and make time for each other (even in the heady days of first love). Basically we taught each other how to have a long term relationship with another person.

Lucy has been married for almost 6 years now, I am head over heels in love witih Cor for going on three years, and we still make our friendship work.

Lucy is the one person in the world who really knows what it was like to grow up me. I am the one person who knows the same thing about her. Our history is so long and rich and special. I don't know many people who have been able to maintain a close friendship that spans the majority of their life. That makes me sad because every single person deserves to have a Lucy in their life.

Happy Birthday Lucy! You are such a blessing in my life. I love you.

Until Next Time...

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!