'Burbs I Belong To: Buffy the Journal Slayer and I Quit.

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-06 - 5:49 p.m.

Hi, I am indeed alive and kicking. Despite all appearances, I did not fall off the face of the earth. Nope, no falling for me, just steady, gainful employment. Yes, I found a job � and in record time too. I really thought it would take me about a month of looking; luckily it was less than two weeks. I definitely feel like the fates had a hand in this one.

It is all about timing, and of course, who you know. Both were perfectly aligned for once. A casual mention of job hunting in an IM conversation with a friend led to a phone call, then the e-mailing of my resume, and an interview the next day. I began training with the girl I would be replacing just a few hours after my interview.

I am working as an administrative assistant for a small company. The work is interesting and the people are nice. I got very lucky - my boss (the owner of the company) likes to hire people who are in their limbo year between graduation and law school. I am very happy that I don�t have to lie about my intentions and plans. It means that I started the job on a good foot and hopefully will leave the same way. It also means that I can share information about how my LSAT prep class is going, how the LSAT itself went, and what schools I am applying to. Beyond that there really isn�t anything else to share. Too many people have gotten burned by sharing too much about their work life on the internet. The last thing I would want to do is jeopardize an opportunity as good as this.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

My fifth anniversary with Cor was on the 4th. It is pretty amazing to me that we are in a place to celebrate our relationship. The last year has been so tumultuous and difficult, it was definitely up in the air whether or not we would make it through. I am really happy we did. It made celebrating our anniversary this year particularly poignant for me. It was not all emotional gushiness though, we had a lot of fun too. We went to a cook out on the night of the 4th, on the 5th we went to see a midnight showing of the first Indiana Jones movie, Raiders of the Lost Ark which was so much fun to see again on a big screen.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!